Save the Date! The 2023 Texas Downtown Conference Early-Bird Registration Ends on Friday, October 6.

About Us

Texas Downtown was founded in 1985 to connect and serve downtown professionals and champions. At the time, downtowns across the state were suffering from a lack of investment and there was no organization that was dedicated to turning the tide. Today, our mission is to provide members with resources, advocacy, education, and connections to develop vibrant districts.

Our members are dedicated to downtown development and revitalization. By joining Texas Downtown, you are connected with a network of passionate downtown advocates and access to information and resources that will benefit your downtown and community.

Texas Downtown Conference

The annual Texas Downtown Conference is the only statewide conference dedicated to downtown. Our 250+ attendees represent cities of all sizes, downtown and Main Street programs, economic development professionals, chambers of commerce staff, nonprofit leaders, small business owners, and entrepreneur consultants. The event features general and breakout sessions, mobile tours, events, and networking. Sponsorship and exhibiting opportunities are available.

Learn More

President’s Awards

The President’s Awards Program was started in 1986 to recognize outstanding projects, places, and people of Texas downtowns. The program features twelve different categories that fall under design or achievement. The deadline for the 2022 program is August 5.

See the Awards

Anice Read FUND

The Anice Read Fund was formed to honor Anice Read, one of the founders of Texas Downtown. Grants from the Fund support downtown projects and programs in member communities.

Learn More
Donate Now

Learn More About Texas Downtown

Texas Downtown offers a myriad of benefits to members including:


Board Members and Staff

Jorge Quirino

President, Lubbock

Heather Juarez

Vice President, Cleburne

Frank Robinson

Treasurer, Conroe

Emily Koller

Secretary, Amarillo

Katelyn Brown

Immediate Past President, Bryan

Molly Alexander


Kristi Barnes


Brisa Byford


Tina Israel

Bay City

Amy Miller


Keli Miller


Tania Moody


Marie Oehlerking-Read

Fort Worth

TK Presley


Rayna Teicheira


Amy Hammons

Ex Officio, Texas Main Street Program

Shane Wilhelm

Ex Officio, Texas Travel Alliance

Shelly Hargrove

Staff, Marketing and Communications Coordinator

Suzy Lawrence

Staff, Executive Director


Texas Downtown committees are responsible for many programs and services offered to members. Help us reach more Texas communities and sign up to serve today. No travel budget required - committees meet via monthly Zoom sessions.

Anice Read Fund

Facilitates awareness and growth of the Anice Read Fund, the grant fund founded by Texas Downtown and managed by Communities Foundation of Texas.
Chair: Amy Miller, Elgin

Annual Conference

Provides a meaningful and affordable annual professional development opportunity for those involved in downtown revitalization in Texas.
Co-Chairs: Tina Israel, Bay City, and Heather Juarez, Cleburne

President's Awards

Provides a program that showcases the best in programs, projects and people in Texas downtowns. Spotlight downtown successes to a larger audience. Presents a program that provides a case study learning experience on which members can model local projects.
Co-Chairs: Katelyn Brown, Bryan and Keli Miller, Goliad


Coordinates educational opportunities for members
Co-Chairs: Emily Koller, Amarillo and Marie Oehlerking-Read, Fort Worth


Coordinates marketing and membership initiatives
Co-Chairs: Brisa Byford, Richardson, and Tania Moody, Levelland


Ensures that Texas Downtown has a coordinated effort to monitor and provide information about legislation impacting downtowns at the state and federal levels to members. Please note that Texas Downtown is not a registered lobbyist.
Co-Chairs: Molly Alexander, Elgin, and Frank Robinson, Conroe

Job Openings

We are happy to share downtown and downtown-related job openings.

View Jobs